Glass of water, sweet tea actually!

I thought I would be creative with my title to describe my weekend. I really love iced tea with sugar:)
Yes, the homeschool conference was good. I volunteered mostly Thurs. and on and off Friday in between workshops, Sat. Was mostly workshops.
Dr. Erwin Lutzer was one of the main speakers and he was good, wise and encouraging. Norm Wakefield was my favorite, reminding me how precious my children are, how great my husband is and made just for me and that the Holy Spirit is my 24/7 guide living and real. I really had some refreshing reminders and clarifications so it was good!
I changed some curriculum for this next year as I was convicted not to complicate things and get too much on my plate. I was reminded that knowledge is just that but character is where it all lies so I invested in “Polished Cornerstones” by Doorposts. They have some really fabulous character building tools, we’ve used some in the past but were going to dive in to the girls book next year.
I purchased the Notgrass America the Beautiful history curriculum, the author was fabulous, loved talking to her about her daughters and I am so excited for history!
I was most encouraged to appreciate the time I have with the girls, invest in their heart, build their character, live in this world but not of it, love, not as the world loves but as Jesus would love(pretty hard sometimes for sure) and to really truly respect my husband as a hardworking, Jesus fearing, kind, gentle man that he is.
At the end of Dr. Lutzer’s talk he read this writing which was written by an African who was martyred
for his faith. I want to write this on my wall, it’s so great.

“I’m part of the fellowship of the unashamed, the die has been cast, I have stepped over the line, the decision has been made-I’m a disciple of Jesus Christ- I won’t look back, let us slow down, back away or be still.
My past is redeemed, my present makes sense, my future is secure- I’m finished and done with low living, sight walking, smooth knees, colorless dreams, tamed visions, worldly talking, cheap giving and dwarfed goals.
My pace is set, my gait is fast, my goal is heaven, my road is narrow, my way is rough, my companions are few, my guide is reliable, my mission is clear. I won’t give up, shut up, let up until I have stayed up, stored up, prayed up for the cause of Jesus Christ.
I must go till He comes, give till I drop, preach till everyone knows, work till He stops me and when He comes for His own, He will have no trouble recognizing me because my banner will have been clear.”

I do have my work cut out for me but I want my girls and husband and myself to have banners of love for sure:)

20130617-141012.jpg

5 thoughts on “Glass of water, sweet tea actually!

  1. Amen and amen! Love that! Radical for Jesus, right? You inspire me! Your new piece is awesome! I think I might have missed your last post! I’ll go pack and read. I am going to send you an email about the blog appearance, although I don’t know very much! I have never lost any content when switching from one theme to another.

  2. You are an awesome artist filled with joy that only knowing Jesus can bring!!
    You are even a more awesome daughter!!
    Love you!

Leave a Reply

