Are you Ready?

Our hearts and prayers are going out to the people of Oklahoma this week. What a terrible scene it is and I’m absolutely heart broken for the families who lost their children, I can’t even imagine.

It has got us thinking about are we prepared for an emergency? We could have a tornado here, we’re pretty safe from earthquakes and hurricanes and flooding and then we have the looming state of our government always on our minds. I’ve had multiple discussions this week with friends about all this because I was getting a little frazzled, I don’t have buckets of wheat stored, I don’t even eat wheat and all the rotating storage systems for food….I had no idea. It is a whole different world of storing and preparing and I felt pretty blindsided sooooo we started researching and we have been talking and coming up with a plan for our family. Being gluten free and dairy free with no fructose it is more concerning, we don’t just break open a box of Kraft Mac and cheese and cook it on the camp stove.

As a Christian and as a planner, I have spent time looking at verses, praying and talking with some older wise friends of mine first for direction and secondly to make sure I wasn’t crazy and to reinforce the fact that God is greater, He is sovereign and He has promised to be my protector “The Lord is faithful, and He will strengthen you and protect you from the evil one.” 2 Thess.3:3 and then a bit further down, the Bible says, “May The Lord direct your hearts into the love of God and into the steadfastness of Christ”

Yes, that is where I want to be, it is easy to get worried and obsessed and put all emphasis on what can I do and what do we have to get and what about our money…….I do think The Lord has called us to be prepared and not just be kicking back expecting the govt. or our neighbors to take care of us. I think it’s a fine line and balance.
I would love to hear what you think or what you are doing to have your families ready if an emergency came up and we didn’t have our luxuries and “normal” life.

Meanwhile we are winding down schooling with reading and language and some math during the summer but the full load of school is over for a while and summer is coming, I just know it….

20130524-080247.jpg
The girls had their first sleep out to kick off the Summer….Colorado style it was 45 degrees last night! Yeah for stocking caps:)

2 thoughts on “Are you Ready?

    • Hi there,
      I saw your post and wrote a comment, we loved that you put it on there and so happy you love it! It was one of my most fun canvases because I knew you liked the style and I knew you would appreciate it because you homeschool and we just had to put the corn in:)

Leave a Reply

